Welcome!!

12 02 2012

Since this is my first blog post, I figured I’d tell you a little bit about myself.  I am a Navy brat who has spent most of my life living in Virginia Beach, VA and happen to think that it is the best city in America! Because of the large military presence in this area, you’ll be hard-pressed to find someone who does not consider themselves a big supporter of our troops and we regularly put our patriotism on full display.  I went to Catholic schools for 12 years and attempted college at Old Dominion University.  I realized that college was not compatible with my lifestyle since going to class, working in a bar and drinking (of course!) left very little time for studying.  I will never forget the one instance that I see as the straw that broke the camel’s back when it came to higher learning.  I was 18 years old when the attacks on 9/11 happened (a day that I will never forget).  The following semester, I enrolled in a class on our American political system and was very excited about it.  That excitement came to a screeching halt when the teacher of the course went on her own personal diatribe of the benefits that she saw in the communistic model and how it was superior to our republic.  *Side note- I cannot stand it when our representative republic is referred to as a democracy and if you do not know the difference, look it up. It was about 5 minutes into her praise of communism when I decided that I had heard all that I needed to and walked out of the class.  I know there are people who will say “you could have switched classes” or “getting your degree is worth listening to that as long as you learned the material and blocked her out” but for reasons I still don’t completely understand, it made me begin to question what the value of a college degree was and if it was even worth it. (this is a topic I will expand on in this blog) I continued working in local bars and became a bartender as soon as I turned 21 years old. (why I stopped bartending and whether or not I regret it will also be discussed) When I was about 10 years old, I had asked my dad if the “red team” or the “blue team” was the one that the military liked.  He answered that it was the “red team” and I declared myself to be a Republican from then on.  I realized during the elections of 2008 that I was not completely sure whether I was a Republican or Democrat and needed to re-evaluate the views of both parties as an adult because I wanted to be educated in my choice.  I took a bunch of current issues that were being discussed on the news and decided how I felt about them.  Lo and behold, my views lined up perfectly with the Republican platform.  I also should mention that I am fluent in sarcasm and if you are questioning whether or not something I post is sarcastic or not, err on the side of sarcasm! Well, that’s enough about me for now.  This introduction has reminded me of so many issues I plan on discussing and stories that I want to tell so I’m going to get to work on those but would love for you to tell me a little bit about yourselves!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

